Double win at Imola for Verstappen

Dijk van den Bunt
Dijk van den Bunt
26/04/2022 09:27
Facebook icon Twitter icon Reddit icon

Double win at Imola for Verstappen!

Charles Leclerc gave it all and lost the car with a few laps left of the race. That gave the Redbull team a golden chance for a double win at Imola. New fresh points for Verstappen and Perez in the fight for the championship.

RedBulll came to Imola with one focus, to close the gap to championship leader Ferrari and Charles Leclerc. They certainly succeeded with a double victory for Max Verstappen and he gained 19 points on the Monegasque.

-It was a fantastic Sunday , Max Verstappen said after RedBulls first double victory since 2016

Verstappen took the start av the race from pole position and his colleague Sergio Perez managed to squeeze past the Ferrari up to second place while Leclerc struggled and fell down to fourth. The Ferrari driver fought his way back on the wet track and tried to pass Perez when he spun off on the 54th lap. He recovered the car and went into the pit to change tyres and never made it back to challenge the Redbull drivers but instead ended up in 6th place. Sergio Perez finished second after his team mate Verstappen and Lando Norris, Mclaren took the third spot. George Russell on fourth and Valtteri Bottas, AlfaRomeo finished just ahead of Charles Leclerc in fifth.

Next race will be in Miami. USA in two weeks.


1 Charles Leclerc MON FERRARI 86

2 Max Verstappen NED RED BULL RACING 59

3 Sergio Perez MEX RED BULL RACING 54

4 George Russell GBR MERCEDES 49

5 Carlos Sainz ESP FERRARI 38

6 Lando Norris GBR MCLAREN 35

7 Lewis Hamilton GBR MERCEDES 28

8 Valtteri Bottas FIN ALFA ROMEO 24

9 Esteban Ocon FRA ALPINE RENAULT 20

10 Kevin Magnussen DEN HAAS FERRARI 15

11 Daniel Ricciardo AUS MCLAREN 11

12 Yuki Tsunoda JPN ALPHATAURI RBPT 10


14 Sebastian Vettel GER ASTON MARTIN 4

15 Fernando Alonso ESP ALPINE RENAULT 2

16 Zhou Guanyu CHN ALFA ROMEO 1

17 Alexander Albon THA WILLIAMS 1

18 Lance Stroll CAN ASTON MARTIN 1

19 Mick Schumacher GER HAAS FERRARI 0

20 Nico Hulkenberg GER ASTON MARTIN 0

21 Nicholas Latifi CAN WILLIAMS 0