Verstappen wins the sprint at Imola

Dijk van den Bunt
Dijk van den Bunt
24/04/2022 09:40
Facebook icon Twitter icon Reddit icon

Max Verstappen wins the sprint race at Imola

The Dutch driver Max Verstappen won the sprint race at Imola yesterday and got 8 points in his fight with Ferrari´s Charles Leclerc. The current leader of the drivers’ championship Charles Leclerc finished second and got 7 points in total and Perez ended up in third spot including an extra point for the fastest lap.

The sprint race result determines the starting grid for today’s race and Verstappen will be on pole position alongside Charles Leclerc.

In the sprint race, Verstappen started in pole but was overtaken by LeClerc in the start of the race but managed his soft tyres better than the Monegasque and overtook him on the 20th lap of 21.

Haas decide to use medium tyres and that affected them heavily as Kevin Magnussen qualified for 4th place in the sprint race but ended up at 8th, taking the last point. AlfaRomeo driver Valtteri Bottas and Daniel Ricciardo in the McLaren both scored points but the drive of the day must be Carlos Sainz that has a terrible qualification and crashed in Q2 , starting in the back of the grid but finished fourth to the delight of the Italian fans.

Mercedes are still struggling with the car but were expected to climb in the result after a great FP earlier that day. Unfortunately, both drivers got stuck in the DRS train and never managed to make any impact in the race. Russel ended up in 10th place while Hamilton finished 14th.


1 Charles Leclerc MON FERRARI 78

2 Carlos Sainz ESP FERRARI 38

3 George Russell GBR MERCEDES 37

4 Sergio Perez MEX RED BULL RACING 36

5 Max Verstappen NED RED BULL RACING 33

6 Lewis Hamilton GBR MERCEDES 28

7 Lando Norris GBR MCLAREN 20

8 Esteban Ocon FRA ALPINE RENAULT 20

9 Valtteri Bottas FIN ALFA ROMEO 14

10 Kevin Magnussen DEN HAAS FERRARI 13

11 Daniel Ricciardo AUS MCLAREN 11



14 Fernando Alonso ESP ALPINE RENAULT 2

15 Zhou Guanyu CHN ALFA ROMEO 1

16 Alexander Albon THA WILLIAMS 1

17 Mick Schumacher GER HAAS FERRARI 0

18 Lance Stroll CAN ASTON MARTIN 0

19 Nico Hulkenberg GER ASTON MARTIN 0

20 Nicholas Latifi CAN WILLIAMS 0